TEKE TEKE shares new single and video for ‘Meikyu’ from forthcoming album

Montreal Japanese surf rockers TEKE TEKE are back with a new single leading up to the release of their upcoming album.

The new track, titled “Meikyu”, comes with an intense Kabuki-themed music video.

In an online statement, the band had this to say about the new single: “Right from the start, ‘Meikyu’ was meant to be a darker song. Musically, we wanted a fast-paced repetitive pattern that would have an hypnotic and unnerving effect to fit Maya’s story of a young character trying to escape the grasp of a twisted spirit that took the form of a labyrinthe-like mansion.”

“Meikyu” is the 8th track from TEKE TEKE’s forthcoming album, Shirushi, which is expected to be released May 7 on Kill Rock Stars.

More about TEKE TEKE at teketekeband.com.

Shirushi track listing:

  1. Kala Kala
  2. Yoru Ni
  3. Dobugawa
  4. Barbara
  5. Kizashi
  6. Kaminari
  7. Sarabande
  8. Meikyu
  9. Tekagami

Montreal Music Scene